[Brunch] The Drake Hotel

wp-1459896680027.jpg

The Drake Hotel
150 Queen St. W.

There’s nothing like a stroll downtown to work up an appetite.

I chanced upon this place with my friends after an unplanned hour-long walk along Queen street. We just couldn’t decide on a place to eat. We stopped when we concluded we couldn’t walk any more, and luckily The Drake Hotel was right beside us.

The Drake Hotel’s dining services are divided up into several parts. The most notable is the cafe, which opens right up onto the street. There is also a lounge you can enter through the lobby. We opted for the lounge area.

The atmosphere is friendly and loud. It’s a good place to chat and catch up with friends over a meal. Oh, and the waiters are friendly and very social (read, waiter photobombs me while I’m taking a selfie).

Side note: They have their own channel, Drake TV, and play this silently on the screens throughout the restaurant — very confusing, yet so entertaining.

The best part of Drake is that it understands that weekend brunches happen late. Really late.

We must have entered at around 2:30 p.m. and they were still serving brunch! Woohoo!

The Drake serves its weekend brunch menu from  9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Makes sense! I mean, I assume that not that many people are going to get up at 8 in the morning to grab breakfast on a Saturday.

wp-1459896671430.jpg

And finally, here’s my order of the day.

Chicken & Waffles.

Hot, salty fried chicken laid on top of crispy-on-the-outside, soft-on-the-inside waffles. Niagara cherries, cress, crème fraiche & maple syrup were all drizzled and piled on top!

Chicken and waffles sounds a little odd to me at first. Waffles are sweet. Chicken is savoury. I’m not sure I like the sound of combining the two together, but it seems to be a popular brunch item. Besides, I like chicken, I like waffles. Why not?

The verdict?

Pretty good! The only irk? I can’t tell whether the syrup is maple or not (it is, according to the menu description), but the creme is really nice! It’s not the sweet kind you’re used to. It’s almost a little sour and goes awesomely with the sour-sweet cherries and crispy chicken.

I surprisingly like it, and will probably order it again — that is, if I can muster up the strength to walk all the way out here again.

*Traveler’s Tip: If you’re not up for a walk, use the public transit! There’s a stop right in front of the diner 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

