[Dinner] Spring Rolls

wp-1460309247464.jpg

Spring Rolls
40 Dundas St W

 

My friend and I dropped in for a late dinner at Spring Rolls this weekend. We were starving after a 2 hour long visit to the Ripley’s Aquarium downtown. We could’ve eaten around the area, but were craving some Thai noodles, so we decided to take the short trip up to the Spring Rolls near Dundas station.

wp-1460308890366.jpg

Candle-lit romantic atmosphere at Spring Rolls.

The interior decoration is on point. There’s a little fountain fixture in the middle of the dining room with a lit candle, flower pots and running water. It’s not a huge restaurant but seems like it’d be a perfect place for a low-key dinner for couples too.

We enter the ground-floor dining area with our menus. One wall is almost entirely glass — I’m guessing it would look beautiful with the sunlight pouring in during the daytime.

I believe there’s also a dining area downstairs and a small bar-type seating area as well.

When we enter we’re offered 2 menus — the regular dine-in menu and the AYCE premium dinner tasting menu (which I belive was around $25~30). We’re really just craving the noodles, so we opt for the dine-in menu to save money.

The table is set with an adorable electric candle.

wp-1460309164390.jpg

The dinner menu.

The menu consists of soups, salads, dim sum, appetizers, main dishes with meat or seafood, noodles/bowls, and sushi rolls. The prices aren’t too crazy for a weekend dinner, ranging from $5.50~17. If you forego the appetizers and desserts, I assume two people could comfortably dine here under about $35.

wp-1460309379135.jpg
Szechuan Hot and Sour Soup.

For an appetizer, my friend orders Szechuan Hot and Sour Soup to help ward off the cold from all the walking we’ve been doing to get to the aquarium. I’m nervous about ordering soups here because I don’t recognize the flavours, so I opt to forgo the appetizer.

The soup is made with vegetables, tofu, egg, black fungus and bamboo shoots. My friend offers me some so I can see if I like it, and it’s an interesting blend of spicy and sour. It’s actually more sour than spicy to my taste buds. There’s a bit of a sweetness here as well. It’s definitely a stronger flavoured soup, but I don’t taste any extreme spice use that I was afraid of.

This would be a good choice for people who are taking baby steps in trying new menu items.

wp-1460308861787.jpg
Famous Original Chicken Pad Thai.

My craving.

Famous Original Chicken Pad Thai. Thai rice noodle stir-fried and tossed with garlic, onion, tofu, beansprouts and egg, topped with ground peanuts and fresh coriander.

The food comes out really fast! We barely waited at all (My friend even joked, “Didn’t realize this was a fast food restaurant!”).

The beansprouts are raw and just laid at the top, so if you’re not a fan of eating them like this, you need to work them under and in between the noodles while they’re still hot to cook them.

I squeeze the lemon wedge all over the noodles, then stir the whole thing up with the chopsticks (yes, the table setting includes chopsticks AND a fork). And dig in!

wp-1460309229593.jpg

I opt for the famous original sauce and chicken, but you have several choices. For the sauce: unique satay or curry. For the toppings: vegetables and tofu, beef, chicken, shrimp, seafood, house (chicken and shrimp).

The original sauce is sweet and sour — again, more sour than sweet.

Way, way back in the days when I’d only tried the Thai Express’s fast food pad thai version, I thought pad thai was supposed to be really sweet. Now, I actually prefer this more tangy, sour version (Room for some sweet dessert afterwards!).

I’m not a big fan of coriander, but since it’s just laid on top, you can probably request to hold off on them.

wp-1460309216346.jpg

The decoration on the plate is adorable. It gives you that high quality feeling despite it being a relatively low-priced item ($12.99).

Again, the plate is huge, so the portion looks small, but it’s actually quite filling. We meant to order dessert afterwards, but had to skip it because we were so full! But I’ve tried the Mango Crème Brûlée here and it was pretty decent!

*Traveler’s Tip: Get off the TTC at Dundas Station. It’s barely a walk at all to this restaurant.

Leave a Reply

